30 Ballon d'Or nominees revealed: A Brazilian star missing

30 Ballon d'Or nominees revealed: A Brazilian star missing

Lionel Messi won the FIFA Best Player of the Year award, but probably the most famed individual trophy in the world of football is being awarded by the magazine French Football alone again - Ballon d'Or. The list of 30 players in the narrow circle of possible winners has been released and there is just one notable omission - Neymar.

The Paris Saint-Germain star is missing from the award that is handed out by a magazine in the country he's playing. Even though the Brazilian did have injury problems, it seems his paying for his sins against PSG and Ligue 1 due to the blatant desire to rejoin Barcelona, as he certainly warrants a place on the list more than some, like Georginio Wijnaldum.

Liverpool has the most representatives - 7! Alisson, Virgil van Dijk and Trent Alexander-Arnold represent the backline of the European champions. Wijnaldum, Firmino, Mane, and Salah are the other players included from Jurgen Klopp's side, but Van Dijk and Mane certainly have the most chances to win it.

The champions of England, Manchester City, have five players representing them - Kevin De Bruyne, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, and Raheem Sterling. With Silva and Sterling being the favourites amongst Cityzens as De Bruyne did miss out on a lot of games due to injuries.

The usual suspects are there again - Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo will once again be the front-runners for the award that is awarded for performances in a calendar year.

Robert Lewandowski is having the best start to the current season and seems like a good pick for a betting man, while Ajax's former and current players like Donny van de Beek, Dusan Tadic, Frenkie De Jong, and Matthijs de Ligt will have to be satisfied with just being nominated it seems.

Eden Hazard had a great previous season, perhaps his best at Stamford Bridge, but the Belgian suffered a hindered start to the new one with Real Madrid due to injuries. Karim Benzema has benefited from CR7 leaving Santiago Bernabeu and is scoring enough goals again, but not enough for a golden ball trophy.

Even though Luka Modric did win the award last year, more on the merit of his teams' accomplishments than his own performances in them, another surprise is hard to imagine this year. Leo Messi is the biggest favourite, but Cristiano, Lewa, Van Dijk, and Mane are trailing not to behind. Even though Bernardo Silva, who won five trophies this year, would be the pick of the author.

Here are all the Ballon d'Or nominees:

Liverpool: Virgil Van Dijk, Roberto Firmino, Alisson, Georginio Wijnaldum, Trent Alexander -Arnold , Sadio Mane, and Mohamed Salah

Manchester City: Kevin De Bruyne, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva, Sergio Aguero, and Raheem Sterling

Barcelona: Leo Messi, Antoine Griezmann, Marc Andre Ter Stegen, and Frenkie De Jong

Real Madrid: Karim Benzema and Eden Hazard

Tottenham: Son Heung-min and Hugo Lloris

Ajax: Donny Van de Beek and Dusan Tadic

Juventus: Cristiano Ronaldo and Matthijs de Ligt

PSG: Kylian Mbappe and Marquinhos

Atletico Madrid: Joao Felix

Napoli: Kalidou Koulibaly

Bayern Munich: Robert Lewandowski

Arsenal: Pierre Emmerick Aubameyang


Share this article?
Facebook Twitter Linkedin

Send it to your friends
Viber Whatsapp Facebook Telegram


Join the Conversation

You must be logged in to post a comment.